Since 1986, Americans have been celebrating the life, work, and impact of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. as a federal holiday. More recently, it’s become more than a day off, but a day on — the National MLK Day of Service.
The Phillips Packing Company began in Cambridge, Maryland in 1902 with a single plant and went on to become the largest employer in Dorchester County and one of the most recognized names in seafood. As the company expanded, so did its legacy on the Eastern Shore through both buildings and stories. A former Six-to-Fix program project, Preservation Maryland supported the effort to revitalize the Packing Company by identifying funding to support the critical repair of the iconic smokestacks and increasing public awareness of this important preservation project on Maryland’s eastern shore.
Our Vice President Katie Parks is featured in this Maryland Public Television (MPT) special that tells the story of Cambridge, Maryland – “from boomtown that went bust to a modern hub for innovation poised to revitalize the landscape and economic future of the region.”
The Maryland House that Inspired Disney’s Haunted Mansion
10/31/2017 By Waxter Intern
When Disneyland opened for the season in 1969, a new spookier attraction was included on the park map – Disney’s Haunted Mansion – inspired by the Shipley-Lydecker House in Baltimore City.
While developing the concept for the attraction, Disney’s imagineers searched for inspiration in the antebellum plantation homes of the South. When imagineer Ken Anderson came across an unlabeled image of the Shipley-Lydecker house in a book entitled Decorative Art of Victoria’s Era itbecame the model for Disney’s Haunted Mansion!
HISTORY OF THE SHIPLEY-LYDECKER HOUSE
The Shipley-Lydecker house was situated at the intersection of McHenry Street and South Franklintown Road in the Shipley Hill neighborhood of Baltimore City. The mansion was built by Charles Shipley in 1803 and sold to Philip Lydecker in 1906. The original configuration of the home was the white brick structure with Italianate columns and the iconic cast iron was added later giving it it’s distinctive appearance. The Shipley-Lydecker house was demolished in 1967.
The Works Progress Administration Guide to Maryland, written by authors hired under the New Deal to document America, describes the architecture of the Shipley-Lydecker house: “…a pretentious three-story, square, brick structure built by Charles Shipley in 1803. It has a two-story addition at the rear and a flat hipped roof surrounded by a cupola with a gilded weathervane and three round-arch windows. The tympanum of the two-story columned portico is decorated with rays radiating from a half sun. The elaborate cast-iron grillwork of the two-story gallery porches, extending around three sides of the house, is notable.”
This post was written by Maggie Pelta-Pauls, a Waxter Intern with Preservation Maryland. A graduate of The College of William and Mary, Maggie is primed to research and write about Maryland history – especially culinary history. Learn more about Maggie and our The Waxter Memorial Internship program here: presmd.org/waxter.
A legacy gift from William D. Waxter, III established the Waxter Memorial Internship to help Preservation Maryland support the next generation in historic preservation.